Union Justice Court
George Korutz Justice Building
31 Avenue C - Suite 3
Johnson City, NY 13790
Click here for location of Union Justice Court
Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Phone: (607) 786-2965 Please listen to menu choices.
Fax: (607) 238-1261
Hon. Thomas J. Dellapenna Jr.
Hon. Richard H. Miller II
When Does the Court Hear SUMMARY PROCEEDINGS (Evictions)?
Please call the Court for availability of a Judge for a hearing.
Summary Proceedings are held on Wednesday and Thursday at 9:00 AM.
The court DOES NOT provide paperwork for Summary Proceedings
Endorsement Fee - $20.00
Filing Fee - $20.00
How do I file a SMALL CLAIMS Action?
A Guide To Small Claims Booklet may be picked up at any Court.
To file a Small Claims Action in the Town of Union Justice Court
The defendant MUST live or work in the Town of Union.
Small Claims is for monetary damages up to $3,000.00.
Filing Fees: $10.00 $0 - $1,000
$15.00 $1,001 - $3,000
How can I make a FINE PAYMENT?
Fine Payments may be made in person during regular business hours or by mail.
Payments Methods: Cash, Money Order, Certified Check or Credit Card (MC/VISA)
NO PERSONAL CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED FOR PAYMENT
NO PAYMENTS MAY BE MADE BY PHONE OR FAX.
How Should I Plea to my TRAFFIC TICKET?
INFORMATION PURPOSES ONLY
When the court has received an accusatory instrument alleging that you have committed an offense, you are presumed innocent until proven guilty. You have the right to retain an attorney to represent you now, or at any stage in these proceedings.
You have various procedural options of bringing this matter to a just disposition. You may choose to proceed in any of the following manners, or any other legally authorized manner. You may want to consult an attorney for guidance or representation before determining which course of action you will pursue. THE COURT MAY NOT PROVIDE YOU WITH A RECOMMENDATION AS TO HOW YOU SHOULD PROCEED, OR AS TO WHICH OF THESE OPTIONS YOU SHOULD CHOOSE.
Plead Not Guilty.
By pleading "Not Guilty" you exercise your right to a public trial at which the People Of the State of New York, represented by the prosecution, must prove. beyond a reasonable doubt, that you have committed the offense alleged in the accusatory instrument. At the trial you will have the right to hear, see and challenge the evidence. Submitted to prove your guilt, including confronting by cross-examination the Police Officer, Peace Officer or other witness or witnesses who testify against you. You have the right to have witnesses testify on your behalf and you may, but you are not required to testify on your own behalf. The court will determine after hearing all the evidence submitted at the trial whether or not the People have proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, and will render an appropriate verdict.
Plead Guilty As Charged.
By pleading "Guilty" you waive your right to a trial at which the People of the State of New York, represented by the prosecution, must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you committed the offense alleged in the accusatory instrument. A Plea of Guilty will subject you to sentencing by the judge presiding, to any legally authorized sentence. You may withdraw, with the court's permission, your plea of guilty at any time prior to sentencing and exercise your right to a trial.
Communicate with the Broome County District Attorney's Office Concerning an Alternative Disposition.
After entering a Plea of "Not Guilty" you will be set for a Conference Date at which time you may contact the Broome County District Attorney's Office who is responsible for proving the charge or charges against you and negotiate an agreement to plead guilty to a legally authorized alternative offense, including a less severe offense or offenses. Any proposed agreement is subject to approval by the court. Upon a plea of guilty to the agreed-upon offense you will be subject to sentencing by the presiding judge to any sentence legally authorized to be imposed for the offense to which you plead guilty.
How Do I Reach?
Broome County District Attorney's Office 778-2198
Broome County Public Defender's Office 778-2043
NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles 1-800-CALL DMV
Point Assessment Chart:
Speed over the posted limit
1-10 mph 3
11-20 mph 4
21-30 mph 6
31-40 mph 8
Greater than 40 mph 11
Speed not reasonable/
Too fast for conditions 3
Following to close 4
Passing red light or stop sign 3
Unsafe Lane Change 3
Failure to Yield 3
Improper Passing 3
Failure to Obey Traffic Control Device 2