

Town Board

Rose A. Sotak, Supervisor
Thomas R. Augostini, Councilman
Frank J. Bertoni, Councilman
Leonard J. Perfetti, Councilman,
Robert Mack, Councilman

TOWN OF UNION REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

January 6, 2016

The Reorganizational Meeting of the Town Board of the Town of Union was held on Wednesday, January 6, 2016 at 7:30 P.M. in the Town Board Room, 3111 East Main Street, Endwell, New York.

<u>BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT</u>: Supervisor Rose A. Sotak, Councilman Thomas R. Augostini, Councilman Frank J. Bertoni, Councilman Leonard J. Perfetti, Councilman Robert Mack.

<u>TOWN OFFICIALS PRESENT</u>: Town Attorney Alan J. Pope, Deputy Town Attorney Kurt Schrader, Town Clerk Gail L. Springer, Deputy Town Clerk Rebecca Kruczkowski.

Also in attendance were Johnson City Mayor Greg Deemie and Town of Union Zoning Board of Appeals member Giuseppe Roberto.

Supervisor Sotak opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

(Prepared Resolution filed as part of these minutes authorizing that the following policies, procedures, practices and appointments are established, adopted and approved.

1. MEETING DATES

During calendar year 2016, the Town Board of the Town of Union shall hold its regular meetings on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 P.M. and work sessions shall be held on the first and third Wednesday of the month prior to the meeting. In July and August, meetings will be held on July 20, 2016 and August 17, 2016. The meetings will be held at the Town Hall, 3111 East Main Street, Endwell, New York 13760.

2. OFFICIAL DEPOSITORIES

The following banks are designated as official depositories for Town of Union funds for 2016:

M & T Bank First Niagara Chase/JP Morgan NBT Bank Bank of America Citibank Key Bank



3. BOARD RULES OF PROCEDURE

The Town Board will follow Roberts Rules of Order for 2016. In addition, upon the request of any member of the Town Board, at any time prior to taking of a vote on any motion and/or resolution regarding any subject introduced before the Board for the first time that year, the motion and/or resolution may be held over to the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Town Board or a special meeting as called by the Town Board.

4. ASSOCIATION OF TOWNS

The attendance of Board members, Department Heads and other authorized personnel at the Annual Meeting of the Association of Towns in New York, New York, February 14-17, 2016 is approved. The Supervisor is authorized to cast one ballot for the Town of Union at and upon any vote of the Association of Towns, and that Councilman Thomas R. Augostini is appointed to cast such ballots in the event the Supervisor is unable to act or is not in attendance.

5. BIDS

The advertising of bids by the Town Board shall be authorized by motion rather than resolution, and the Town Clerk is authorized to receive and open all bids at the time designated in the bids notice and documents.

6. OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

The official newspaper of the Town of Union for legal and/or public notices and all other purposes shall be the Press & Sun-Bulletin.

7. INVESTMENT OF FUNDS

The Supervisor of the Town of Union is authorized, consistent with applicable law, to invest Town funds for calendar year 2016.

8. PURCHASES UNDER STATE AND COUNTY BIDS AND CONTRACTS

At any time that Town of Union officials are authorized to purchase goods, materials and services, the purchase may, unless otherwise specifically directed by the Town Board, be made under State or County bids and contracts.

9. TOWN BULLETIN BOARD, SIGN BOARD AND WEB SITE

The official Town bulletin board and signboard for all papers, legal and official notices of the Town of Union shall be located at the west entrance of the Town Hall inside the doorway. All official notices will be posted on the Website.



10. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTIES AND DEPARTMENT HEADS

The following Deputies and Department Heads are appointed to serve in the respective positions for the Town of Union for the year 2016 with a term as provided by law or at the pleasure of the Town Board where no term is provided by law:

Comm. of Public Works
Dep. Comm. of P.W.-Environmental Services
Planning Director

Economic Development Director

Highway Superintendent Attorney – Zoning Board of Appeals

Dep. Attorney – Zoning Board of Appeals
Dep. Attorney – Zoning Board of Appeals

Dog Control Attorney

DCPW - Codes & Ordinances

Building Official

DCPW for Engineering
Deputy Comptroller
Deputy Town Assessor
DCPW Occupational Safety & Health

Clerk to Justice – Justice Black

Constable Ted Oliver 1 year

Louis V. Caforio Philip E. Schmidt Paul A. Nelson Joseph M. Moody Chester P. Kupiec Thomas Dellapenna Alan J. Pope Kurt D. Schrader Alan J. Pope Daria M. Golazeski Daria M. Golazeski Jay Harris Gretchen Uhler Julie Dugan Philip E. Schmidt Gretchen Carpentieri

11. ADDITIONAL APPOINTMENTS

Supervisor Sotak appoints the following for 2016:

Executive Administrative Assistant – Elizabeth Austin Executive Administrative Assistant – Robin Shimer Town Historian – Suzanne Meredith Deputy Town Historian – Jackie Tedesco

12. Establish salary and wage rates for Town employees as stated in the 2016 budget salary schedule as established in the CSEA Collective Bargaining Agreements and/or by Town Board approval.

13. DEPUTY SUPERVISOR

Supervisor Sotak appoints Councilman Thomas Augostini from January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016.



Supervisor Sotak read the following committee appointments for 2016:

- EMPLOYEES/SAFETY------Chairperson Robert Mack
 Leonard J. Perfetti
- 2. FINANCE/CAPITAL PROJECTS------Chairperson Thomas R. Augostini Leonard J. Perfetti
- 3. LAWS & LEGISLATION/
 INTERGOVERNMENTAL------ Chairperson Frank J. Bertoni
 Robert Mack
- 4. PARKS, REC. & ENVIRONMENTAL----- Chairperson Leonard J. Perfetti Robert Mack
- 5. PLANNING, ZONING, ECO. DEVEL. ----- Chairperson Frank J. Bertoni Robert Mack
- 6. PUBLIC WORKS------ Chairperson Leonard J. Perfetti Thomas R. Augostini

Reappointments on vacancies on the following Boards and Commissions that expired December 31, 2015.

Planning Board - (7 year term)

Lisa Miller as Chairperson term to expire December 31, 2016 (one year). W. Scott Forster term to expire December 31, 2022.

Zoning Board of Appeals – (7 year term)

James Kinne as Chairman term to expire December 31, 2016 (one year). Dan Carden term to expire December 31, 2022. Lisa Temple term to expire December 31, 2022.

<u>Citizens Advisory Council for Community Development – (3 year term)</u>
David Sine as Chairman term to expire December 31, 2016 (one year).
Two (2) openings.

<u>Conservation Advisory Council – (2 Year term)</u> Four (4) openings.



Wellhead Advisory Protection Committee – (3 year term)

Kevin Pero (Village of Endicott) term to expire December 31, 2018.

<u>Street Lighting Commission – (2 year term)</u>

William Markovitz term to expire December 31, 2017. Two (2) openings.

Wetlands Advisory Commission

Louis Caforio term to expire December 31, 2016. Marina Lane term to expire December 31, 2016.

Industrial Commercial Advisory Board – (3 year term)

Ed Testani term to expire December 31, 2018. Eric Williams term to expire December 31, 2018. Two (2) openings.

Town of Union Emergency Operations Plan as revised for 2016.

13. <u>EFFECTIVE DATE</u>:

This Resolution shall take effect as of January 1, 2016.) Res. by Augostini, seconded by Bertoni. The Resolution was adopted.

ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Augostini, seconded by Bertoni to adjourn the meeting. Carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:37 P.M.

GLS/bk

Gail L. Springer, RMC Town Clerk

Vote: All yes.