

Town Board

Rose A. Sotak, Supervisor Thomas R. Augostini, Councilman Frank J. Bertoni, Councilman Leonard J. Perfetti, Councilman, Robert Mack, Councilman

#### TOWN OF UNION REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

### January 4, 2017

The Reorganizational Meeting of the Town Board of the Town of Union was held on Wednesday, January 4, 2017 at 7:30 P.M. in the Town Board Room, 3111 East Main Street, Endwell, New York.

<u>BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT</u>: Supervisor Rose A. Sotak, Councilman Thomas R. Augostini, Councilman Frank J. Bertoni, Councilman Leonard J. Perfetti, Councilman Robert Mack.

<u>TOWN OFFICIALS PRESENT</u>: Deputy Town Attorney Kurt D. Schrader, Town Clerk Gail L. Springer, Deputy Town Clerk Rebecca Kruczkowski.

Absent: Town Attorney Alan J. Pope

Also in attendance were Deputy Commissioner of Public Works for Environmental Services Daniel A. Schofield, Johnson City Mayor Greg Deemie, Zoning Board Appeals Member Giuseppe Roberto.

Supervisor Rose A. Sotak opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

(Prepared Resolution filed as part of these minutes authorizing that the following policies, procedures, practices and appointments are established, adopted and approved.

#### 1. MEETING DATES

During calendar year 2017, the Town Board of the Town of Union shall hold its regular meetings on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 P.M. and work sessions shall be held on the first and third Wednesday of the month prior to the meeting. In July and August, meetings will be held on July 12, 2017 and August 9, 2017. The meetings will be held at the Town Hall, 3111 East Main Street, Endwell, New York 13760.

#### 2. OFFICIAL DEPOSITORIES

The following banks are designated as official depositories for Town of Union funds for 2017:

M & T Bank Chase/JP Morgan NBT Bank Bank of America



Citibank Key Bank

#### 3. BOARD RULES OF PROCEDURE

The Town Board will follow Roberts Rules of Order for 2017. In addition, upon the request of any member of the Town Board, at any time prior to taking of a vote on any motion and/or resolution regarding any subject introduced before the Board for the first time that year, the motion and/or resolution may be held over to the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Town Board or a special meeting as called by the Town Board.

### 4. ASSOCIATION OF TOWNS

The attendance of Board members, Department Heads and other authorized personnel at the Annual Meeting of the Association of Towns in New York, New York, February 19-22, 2017 is approved. The Supervisor is authorized to cast one ballot for the Town of Union at and upon any vote of the Association of Towns, and that Councilman Thomas R. Augostini is appointed to cast such ballots in the event the Supervisor is unable to act or is not in attendance.

#### 5. BIDS

The advertising of bids by the Town Board shall be authorized by motion rather than resolution, and the Town Clerk is authorized to receive and open all bids at the time designated in the bids notice and documents.

#### 6. OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

The official newspaper of the Town of Union for legal and/or public notices and all other purposes shall be the Press & Sun-Bulletin.

#### 7. INVESTMENT OF FUNDS

The Supervisor of the Town of Union is authorized, consistent with applicable law, to invest Town funds for calendar year 2017.

#### 8. PURCHASES UNDER STATE AND COUNTY BIDS AND CONTRACTS

At any time that Town of Union officials are authorized to purchase goods, materials and services, the purchase may, unless otherwise specifically directed by the Town Board, be made under State or County bids and contracts.

#### 9. TOWN BULLETIN BOARD, SIGN BOARD AND WEB SITE



The official Town bulletin board and signboard for all papers, legal and official notices of the Town of Union shall be located at the west entrance of the Town Hall inside the doorway. All official notices will be posted on the Website.

#### 10. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTIES AND DEPARTMENT HEADS

The following Deputies and Department Heads are appointed to serve in the respective positions for the Town of Union for the year 2017 with a term as provided by law or at the pleasure of the Town Board where no term is provided by law:

Town Attorney (2 yr. appt.)

Deputy Town Attorney (2 yr. appt.) Deputy Town Attorney (2 yr. appt.)

Town Comptroller (2 yr. appt.)

Comm. of Public Works

Planning Director

**Economic Development Director** 

Highway Superintendent

DCPW - Environmental Services

DCPW - Occupational Safety & Health

Attorney – Zoning Board of Appeals

Dep. Attorney - Zoning Board of Appeals

Dep. Attorney - Zoning Board of Appeals

Dog Control Attorney

DCPW - Codes & Ordinances

Building Official

Deputy Comptroller

**Deputy Town Assessor** 

Clerk to Justice – Justice Black

Clerk to Justice – Justice Gorman

Clerk to Justice - Part-time

Constable Ted Oliver 1 year

## 11. <u>ADDITIONAL APPOINTMENTS</u>

Supervisor Sotak appoints the following for 2017:

Executive Administrative Assistant – Robin Shimer Town Historian – Suzanne Meredith Deputy Town Historian – Jackie Tedesco

Alan J. Pope Kurt D. Schrader Rosemarie Pope Laura J. Lindsley Louis V. Caforio Paul A. Nelson Joseph M. Moody Chester P. Kupiec Daniel A. Schofield Daniel A. Schofield Thomas Dellapenna Alan J. Pope Kurt D. Schrader Alan J. Pope Daria M. Golazeski Daria M. Golazeski Gretchen Uhler Cindy Mills Gretchen Carpentieri Carrie Aurelio Lauren Harris



12. Establish salary and wage rates for Town employees as stated in the 2017 budget salary schedule as established in the CSEA Collective Bargaining Agreements and/or by Town Board approval.

#### 13. DEPUTY SUPERVISOR

Supervisor Sotak appoints Councilman Leonard J. Perfetti from January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017.

Supervisor Sotak read the following committee appointments for 2017:

- EMPLOYEES/SAFETY-------Robert Mack, Chairperson
   Frank J. Bertoni
- 2. FINANCE/CAPITAL PROJECTS-----Thomas R. Augostini, Chairperson Robert Mack
- 4. PARKS, REC. & ENVIRONMENTAL-----Leonard J. Perfetti, Chairperson Frank J. Bertoni
- 5. PLANNING, ZONING, ECO. DEVEL. ---- Frank J. Bertoni, Chairperson Thomas R. Augostini
- 6. PUBLIC WORKS----- Thomas R. Augostini, Chairperson Robert Mack

Reappointments on vacancies on the following Boards and Commissions that expired December 31, 2016.

<u>Planning Board Chairman – (1-year term)</u> Lisa Miller

Zoning Board of Appeals Chairman – (1-year term)
James Kinne

<u>Assessment Board of Review – (5-year term)</u> Paula Randesi



### <u>Citizens Advisory Council for Community Development – (3-year term)</u>

David Sine as Chairman (1-year term)

Donald Slota

**Bonnie Cornick** 

## Ethics Committee – (2-year term)

Rev. Barry Downing Rev. Dennis Ruda James Santacrose

## Conservation Advisory Council – (2-Year term)

Julie Deemie

Roger McVannan

### Wellhead Advisory Protection Committee – (3-year term)

Robert Bennett, P.E.

### Street Lighting Commission - (2-year term)

Joseph P. Nirchi, Sr. Edward W. Mooney Michael Tugwell

## Wetlands Advisory Commission – (1-year term)

Louis Caforio Marina Lane

## Town of Union Emergency Operations Plan as revised for 2017.

## 13. EFFECTIVE DATE:

This Resolution shall take effect as of January 1, 2017.)

Res. by Augostini, seconded by Bertoni.

The Resolution was adopted.

## Vote: All Yes.

#### ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Augostini, seconded by Bertoni to adjourn the meeting. Carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:36 P.M.

GLS/bk

Gail L. Springer, RMC Town Clerk Page 5