

Town Clerk Leonard J. Perfetti Town of Union

Town Board Rose A. Sotak, *Supervisor* Thomas R. Augostini, *Councilman* Frank J. Bertoni, *Councilman* Robert Mack, *Councilman* John M. Bernardo, *Councilman*

TOWN OF UNION REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

January 3, 2018

SALUTE TO THE FLAG:

Request Resolution authorizing that the following policies, procedures, practices and appointments are established, adopted and approved.

1. MEETING DATES

During calendar year 2018, the Town Board of the Town of Union shall hold its regular meetings on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 P.M. and work sessions shall be held on the first and third Wednesday of the month prior to the meeting. In July and August, meetings will be held on July 11, 2018 and August 8, 2018. The meetings will be held at the Town Hall, 3111 East Main Street, Endwell, New York 13760.

2. OFFICIAL DEPOSITORIES

The following banks are designated as official depositories for Town of Union funds for 2018:

M & T Bank Chase/JP Morgan NBT Bank Bank of America Citibank Key Bank KeyBanc Capital

3. BOARD RULES OF PROCEDURE

The Town Board will follow Roberts Rules of Order for 2018. In addition, upon the request of any member of the Town Board, at any time prior to taking of a vote on any motion and/or resolution regarding any subject introduced before the Board for the first time that year, the motion and/or resolution may be held over to the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Town Board or a special meeting as called by the Town Board.

4. ASSOCIATION OF TOWNS

The attendance of Board members, Department Heads and other authorized personnel at the Annual Meeting of the Association of Towns in New York, New York, February 18-21, 2018 is approved. The Supervisor is authorized to cast one ballot for the Town of Union at and upon any vote of the Association of Towns, and that Councilman Thomas R. Augostini is appointed to cast such ballots in the event the Supervisor is unable to act or is not in attendance.



5. <u>BIDS</u>

The advertising of bids by the Town Board shall be authorized by motion rather than resolution, and the Town Clerk is authorized to receive and open all bids at the time designated in the bids notice and documents.

6. OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

The official newspaper of the Town of Union for legal and/or public notices and all other purposes shall be the Press & Sun-Bulletin.

7. INVESTMENT OF FUNDS

The Supervisor of the Town of Union is authorized, consistent with applicable law, to invest Town funds for calendar year 2018.

8. PURCHASES UNDER STATE AND COUNTY BIDS AND CONTRACTS

At any time that Town of Union officials are authorized to purchase goods, materials and services, the purchase may, unless otherwise specifically directed by the Town Board, be made under State or County bids and contracts.

9. TOWN BULLETIN BOARD, SIGN BOARD AND WEB SITE

The official Town bulletin board and signboard for all papers, legal and official notices of the Town of Union shall be located at the west entrance of the Town Hall inside the doorway. All official notices will be posted on the Website.

10. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTIES AND DEPARTMENT HEADS

The following Deputies and Department Heads are appointed to serve in the respective positions for the Town of Union for the year 2018 with a term as provided by law or at the pleasure of the Town Board where no term is provided by law:

Comm. of Public Works Planning Director Economic Development Director Highway Superintendent DCPW - Environmental Services DCPW - Occupational Safety & Health Attorney – Zoning Board of Appeals Dep. Attorney – Zoning Board of Appeals Dep. Attorney – Zoning Board of Appeals Dog Control Attorney DCPW – Codes & Ordinances Louis V. Caforio Paul A. Nelson Joseph M. Moody Chester P. Kupiec Daniel A. Schofield Daniel A. Schofield Thomas Dellapenna Alan J. Pope Kurt D. Schrader Alan J. Pope Daria M. Golazeski



Town of Union

Building Official Deputy Comptroller Deputy Town Assessor Clerk to Justice – Justice Thomas Clerk to Justice – Justice Gorman Clerk to Justice – Part-time Daria M. Golazeski Gretchen Uhler Cindy Mills Gretchen Carpentieri Carrie Aurelio Lauren Harris

Constable Ted Oliver 1 year

11. ADDITIONAL APPOINTMENTS

Supervisor Sotak appoints the following for 2018:

Executive Administrative Assistant – Gina Suhadolnik Town Historian – Suzanne Meredith Deputy Town Historian – Jackie Tedesco

12. Establish salary and wage rates for Town employees as stated in the 2018 budget salary schedule as established in the CSEA Collective Bargaining Agreements and/or by Town Board approval.

13. DEPUTY SUPERVISOR

Supervisor Sotak appoints Councilman Thomas R. Augostini from January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.

Supervisor Sotak read the following committee appointments for 2018:

- 1. EMPLOYEES/SAFETY Councilman John M. Bernardo, Chairperson Councilman Frank J. Bertoni
- 2. FINANCE/CAPITAL PROJECTS Councilman Robert Mack, Chairperson Councilman John M. Bernardo
- 3. LAWS & LEGISLATION/INTERGOVERNMENTAL Councilman Frank J, Bertoni, Chairperson Councilman Thomas R. Augostini
- 4. PARKS, REC. & ENVIRONMENTAL Councilman Thomas R. Augostini, Chairperson Councilman Robert Mack





- 5. PLANNING, ZONING, ECO. DEVEL. Councilman Frank J. Bertoni, Chairperson Councilman Thomas R. Augostini
- PUBLIC WORKS Councilman John R. Bernardo, Chairperson Councilman Robert Mack

Reappointments on vacancies on the following Boards and Commissions that expired December 31, 2017.

<u>Planning Board</u> Lisa Miller, Chairman – (1-year term) Mark Jaros - (7 year term)

Zoning Board of Appeals James Kinne, Chairman – (1-year term) Norman Davis Jr. – Alternate member - (2 year term)

<u>Assessment Board of Review – (5-year term)</u> Lisa Temple

<u>Citizens Advisory Council for Community Development – (3-year term)</u> David Sine, Chairman (1-year term) Julie Deemie Ada Elwood (Village of Endicott Representative) Vincent Briga (Part Town Representative)

<u>Conservation Advisory Council – (2-Year term)</u> Three (3) vacant positions

<u>Wellhead Advisory Protection Committee – (3-year term)</u> Louis V. Caforio Dave Bernardini

<u>Street Lighting Commission – (2-year term)</u> Joseph P. Nirchi, Sr. – Chairman (1 year term) William Markovitz Two (2) vacant positions

<u>Wetlands Advisory Commission – (1-year term)</u> Louis Caforio Marina Lane



Town of Union

Industrial Commercial Advisory Board (3 year term) Leonard Sas, Jr.

Town of Union Emergency Operations Plan as revised for 2018.

13. EFFECTIVE DATE:

This Resolution shall take effect as of January 1, 2018.

ADJOURNMENT:

LJP/bk

Leonard J. Perfetti Town Clerk