

#### Town Board

Richard A. Materese, Supervisor Thomas R. Augostini, Councilman Frank J. Bertoni, Councilman Sandra C. Bauman, Councilwoman Heather R. Staley, Councilwoman

#### TOWN OF UNION REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

January 2, 2020

# SALUTE TO THE FLAG:

Request Resolution authorizing that the following policies, procedures, practices and appointments are established, adopted and approved.

#### 1. MEETING DATES

During calendar year 2020, the Town Board of the Town of Union shall hold its regular meetings on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 P.M. and work sessions shall be held on the first and third Wednesday of the month prior to the meeting. In July and August, meetings will be held on July 8, 2020 and August 5, 2020. The meetings will be held at the Town Hall, 3111 East Main Street, Endwell, New York 13760.

## 2. OFFICIAL DEPOSITORIES

The following banks are designated as official depositories for Town of Union funds for 2020:

M & T Bank
Chase/JP Morgan
NBT Bank
Bank of America
Citibank
Key Bank
KeyBanc Capital
JP Morgan Securities, LLC
Tioga State Bank

#### 3. BOARD RULES OF PROCEDURE

The Town Board will follow Roberts Rules of Order for 2020. In addition, upon the request of any member of the Town Board, at any time prior to taking of a vote on any motion and/or resolution regarding any subject introduced before the Board for the first time that year, the motion and/or resolution may be held over to the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Town Board or a special meeting as called by the Town Board.

## 4. ASSOCIATION OF TOWNS

The attendance of Board members, Department Heads and other authorized personnel at the Annual Meeting of the Association of Towns in New York, New York, February 16 - 19, 2020 is approved. The Supervisor is authorized to cast one ballot for the Town of Union at and upon any vote of the Association of Towns, and that Councilman Thomas R. Augostini is



appointed to cast such ballots in the event the Supervisor is unable to act or is not in attendance.

## 5. BIDS

The advertising of bids by the Town Board shall be authorized by motion rather than resolution, and the Town Clerk is authorized to receive and open all bids at the time designated in the bids notice and documents.

## 6. OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

The official newspaper of the Town of Union for legal and/or public notices and all other purposes shall be the Press & Sun-Bulletin.

#### 7. INVESTMENT OF FUNDS

The Supervisor of the Town of Union is authorized, consistent with applicable law, to invest Town funds for calendar year 2020.

## 8. PURCHASES UNDER STATE AND COUNTY BIDS AND CONTRACTS

At any time that Town of Union officials are authorized to purchase goods, materials and services, the purchase may, unless otherwise specifically directed by the Town Board, be made under State or County bids and contracts.

## 9. TOWN BULLETIN BOARD, SIGN BOARD AND WEB SITE

The official Town bulletin board and signboard for all papers, legal and official notices of the Town of Union shall be located at the west entrance of the Town Hall inside the doorway. All official notices will be posted on the Website.

# 10. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTIES AND DEPARTMENT HEADS

The following Deputies and Department Heads are appointed to serve in the respective positions for the Town of Union for the year 2020 with a term as provided by law or at the pleasure of the Town Board where no term is provided by law:

Comm. of Public Works	Louis V. Caforio
DCPW - Environmental Services	Daniel A. Schofield
DCPW - Occupational Safety & Health	Daniel A. Schofield
DCPW – Codes & Ordinances	Daria M. Golazeski
Building Official	Daria M. Golazeski
Economic Development Director	Joseph M. Moody
Highway Superintendent	Chester P. Kupiec
Planning Director	Sara Zubalsky-Peer



Attorney – Planning Board

Dep. Attorney - Planning Board

Attorney - Zoning Board of Appeals

Dep. Attorney - Zoning Board of Appeals

Dep. Attorney – Zoning Board of Appeals

Dog Control Attorney

**Deputy Dog Control Attorney** 

Deputy Comptroller

**Deputy Town Assessor** 

Clerk to Justice – Justice Thomas

Clerk to Justice – Justice Gorman

Clerk to Justice - Part-time

Alan J. Pope Rosemarie Pope Thomas Dellapenna Alan J. Pope Rosemarie Pope Alan J. Pope Rosemarie Pope Gretchen Uhler Cindy Mills

Gretchen Carpentieri

Carrie Aurelio Kelly Zduniak

Constable Ted Oliver 1 year

Matthew Oliver 1 year Robert Mack 1 year

# 11. ADDITIONAL APPOINTMENTS

Supervisor Materese appoints the following for 2020:

Executive Administrative Assistant – Marie Ciotoli Town Historian – Suzanne Meredith Deputy Town Historian – Jackie Tedesco

12. Establish salary and wage rates for Town employees as stated in the 2020 budget salary schedule as established in the CSEA Collective Bargaining Agreements and/or by Town Board approval.

# 13. <u>DEPUTY SUPERVISOR</u>

Supervisor Materese appoints Councilman Thomas R. Augostini from January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020.

Supervisor Materese read the following committee appointments for 2020:

1. SAFETY & LAWS & LEGISLATION/INTERGOVERNMENTAL

Councilman Frank Bertoni, Chairperson Councilwoman Sandra C. Bauman Councilwoman Heather R. Staley

2. FINANCE/CAPITAL PROJECTS & PUBLIC WORKS

Councilwoman Heather R. Staley, Chairperson

Councilman Thomas R. Augostini

Councilman Frank J. Bertoni



#### 3. EMPLOYEES / PARKS, RECREATION, & ENVIRONMENTAL

Councilwoman Sandra C. Bauman, Chairperson Councilwoman Heather R. Staley

Councilman Thomas R. Augostini

#### 4. PLANNING, ZONING, & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Councilman Thomas R. Augostini, Chairperson Councilman Frank J, Bertoni Councilwoman Sandra C. Bauman

# Reappointments on vacancies on the following Boards and Commissions that expired December 31, 2019.

# Planning Board (7 year term)

Sara Zubalsky-Peer, Secretary
Lisa Miller, Chairman – (1-year term)
Susan McLain
Tom Crowley (term expires 12/31/23 to get term dates in line)
Surya Yalamanchili – Alternate Member – (1 year term)

## Zoning Board of Appeals (7 year term)

James Kinne, Chairman – (1-year term)
Michael Schafer
Norman Davis, Jr. (to fill Lisa Temple's unexpired term)
Amanda Dorell – Alternate Member (2 year term)

#### Assessment Board of Review – (5-year term)

Karen L. Klecar (to fill Lisa Temple's unexpired term)

#### Ethics Committee (2 Year term)

Rev. Barry Downing Paul J. Burnett James Santacrose Leonard J. Perfetti

# Citizens Advisory Council for Community Development – (3-year term)

David Sine, Chairman (1-year term) Bonnie Cornick Donald Slota

# Wellhead Advisory Protection Committee – (3-year term)

Robert Bennett, P.E. (Village of Johnson City representative)

# <u>Street Lighting Commission – (2-year term)</u>

Joseph P. Nirchi, Sr. – Chairman (1 year term)



William Markovitz

<u>Wetlands Advisory Commission – (1-year term)</u> Louis Caforio Marina Lane

<u>Industrial Commercial Advisory Board</u> (3 year term) Edward Michalek - Chairman

Town of Union Emergency Operations Plan as revised for 2020.

# 13. **EFFECTIVE DATE**:

This Resolution shall take effect as of January 2, 2020.

# **ADJOURNMENT**:

Leonard J. Perfetti
LJP/bk
Town Clerk